Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws are ever-changing in North Dakota. To make sure you are not charged wrongly under DUI, you must immediately contact a DUI Law Firm Fargo ND. Our defense attorneys will ensure that your rights are not violated and tirelessly work towards reducing your penalty if found guilty. North Dakota takes DUI cases very seriously, and thus you should consider hiring our experienced and expert DUI Lawyer Fargo ND for your case.
DUI Laws in North Dakota
According to the laws followed in North Dakota, an individual is prohibited to drive or be in actual control of a vehicle if:
- The individual has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater and 0.04% if they are driving a commercial vehicle or;
- If they are under the influence of any controlled substance or alcohol or a combination of both.
This law may seem relatively straightforward; however, the terms used here have a certain hidden meaning that a DUI Lawyer Fargo ND can help you understand.
Penalties for DUI
North Dakota classifies DUI as a severe offense, and therefore you need a DUI Law Firm Fargo ND immediately at your service. Penalties can be classified as felonies or misdemeanors based on the frequency and severity of the offense.
- Misdemeanor DUI Penalty
- First DUI Offense- This is classified as a Class B misdemeanor. Only if the BAS is 0.16% or greater is there jail time for a first-time offender. Otherwise, the individual has to serve two days of minimum jail time or 20 hours of community service. They may also have to pay a $500-$1500 fine and court costs. If you refuse a DUI test, your license is revoked for a year without the eligibility of a restricted license. If BAC is less than 0.16%, your license is suspended for 91 days, and if it is greater, it will be suspended for 180 days.
- Second DUI Offense- This is also a class B misdemeanor and is committed within seven years of the first offense in order to be considered a second offense. There are ten days of mandatory jail time or 30 days of community service. They may charge monetary fines ranging from $1000 to $1500. If you do not take the DUI test, your license can be revoked for 3 years. If BAC is less than 0.16%, your license will be suspended for 1 year, and if it is greater, it will be suspended for 2 years.
- Third DUI Offense- This is a Class A misdemeanor. You have to serve 6 months to a year in prison if charged. The monetary fine ranges from $2000-$3000. If you do not take the DUI test, your license can be revoked for 5 years. If BAC is less than 0.16%, your license will be suspended for 2 years, and if it is greater, it will be suspended for 3 years.
- Felony DUI Penalty
- Fourth DUI Offense- If charged for DUI a fourth time, it is a Class C felony. This implies that the accused has to serve 1-5 years of jail time. The monetary fine ranges from $2,000-$10,000. If BAC is less than 0.16%, your license will be suspended for 2 years, and if it is greater, it will be suspended for 3 years.
- Serious Injuries- A DUI situation causing bodily injury to someone else is a class C felony and punishable by up to 5 years of prison and a $10,000 fine.
- Death- DUI that involves someone’s death is a class A felony and includes 3-20 years of imprisonment and a $20,000 fine.
DUI is a severe crime; however, penalties can be reduced by attending DUI classes or alcohol sobriety programs. Our DUI Lawyer Fargo ND at Ward K Johnson Law Firm will help you with a strong defense to be acquitted or reduce penalties. Get in touch with our DUI Law Firm Fargo ND, for results in your favor today!